Saving the fruit trees from freezing

Hi everyone and Happy Tax Day! Yeah, I know, no one is happy on tax day except the federal government, but I still want to wish you all a good day. This past weekend, here in Southwestern Illinois was in the 80′s, breezy, sunny and just downright glorious. Monday morning was cold, rainy, windy and just yucky. High was almost 40 degrees. Several times, it sounded like sleet, rather than rain, falling. My fruit trees were budding; my peach tree that I purchased from Wal-Mart last summer, had three pink blooms on it. My struggling cherry tree finally decided to bud out. Then I get an alert on my phone that snow was expected and temps in the mid-20′s, for Monday night. So much for watching the lunar eclipse! So much for my fruit trees! Well, an old friend from boot camp, Katrina, called and reminded me to cover the trees, and if I couldn’t cover them, to make sure I get out there with a hose and spray the trees down before the sun hit the leaves, with the frost on them. She said the sun will burn the leaves, but if I spray them down, before the sun rises, they will be okay. I figured I’d try to cover them and if it was too windy, or the trees were too delicate for a covering, I’d spray them.

Now I know it’s too late for this year, but keep this in mind for next spring:

I ran to my local Dollar Tree and purchased ten cheap vinyl tablecloths. They are the type you use for a kid’s birthday party. I bought the jumbo sized ones; I think they are 54 inches by 108 inches. I only have four trees and three are rather small, but in case one got ripped, or I needed more than two per tree, I wanted extra. I bought the dark-colored ones, so even though it’s cold and cloudy, the dark tablecloths would absorb a little bit of sun and warm the trees. I didn’t want to tape the covers, because I hope to re-use them. So, I clothes-pinned several together to make a larger one and draped it over my peach tree, with a great deal of help from my tall husband. I had read that if the weather is going to be very cold, another thing to help keep your plants from freezing is to cloak them, but ensure the drape goes all the way to the ground. Put a bucket of very hot water under the drape. The hot water will help humidify the air as well as warm it, which will give your plants a little extra help. Another method, my friend, Eve, mentioned is to put Christmas lights over the trees, which give a bit of warmth. We don’t have any light sockets in the back of the house and Don vetoed the idea of a bunch of extension cords stretching from the garage to the trees, because of the wind and rain (I know they have outside extension cords, but the back door to the garage would have to remain open for the cords, which means we could be robbed, or rain could blow into the socket. So, anyway, I went for the cheap tablecloths. Garbage bags work well, also, but I’d have to tape a bunch together, or cut them open and then they aren’t nearly as large as the tablecloths.

My peach tree covered with four large plastic tablecloths.

My peach tree covered with four large plastic tablecloths.

My two apple trees in the front yard, draped with tablecloths

My two apple trees in the front yard, draped with tablecloths

I put my head under the peach one, to see how my blossoms fared, with the wind and stuff. It was nice and toasty warm under the drape. I know it’s supposed to reach mid-40′s today, then below freezing again, so I’m just going to leave the drapes on for the day. As cold and windy as it is, I don’t think there will be a great deal of pollinators buzzing around for the peach blossoms. Tomorrow the temps return to the 60′s, so I can remove them, then.

I realize this isn’t a huge revelation, using tablecloths which are larger than garbage bags, but in case someone hasn’t thought of using them, perhaps it may help them.

This Spring, as you are cleaning, how about going through your cabinets and look for canned goods that are still within the expiration date, that you probably won’t use in the next two or three months and donate them to a food pantry? Got too many seeds to plant this year? How about going to your social media of choice, like Facebook or Twitter and asking if anyone local would like to swap seeds? This is a time of renewal, so how about renewing people’s faith in each other? We are all going through a struggle; some are able to be seen and other struggles are internal. Some people struggle with staying away from the bottle or memories of a lost loved one. Some struggle feeding their families and wonder where next month’s rent is going to come from, while others struggle with being haunted by things they experienced while serving our country. Some of us are going through a divorce or the loss of a child. We can help each other to make it through these things by giving people a shoulder to cry on; an ear for them to bend. When someone posts a rant about something on social media, rather than calling them a troll, think about what crisis did that person experience to make them have a hard heart. Perhaps volunteer, even two or three hours a month on a crisis hotline, or at a soup kitchen or animal shelter. Go through the nice dress clothes you have and will never fit again and donate them to a woman’s shelter in your area. These women have escaped a life of abuse and are trying to get their life together. Nice clothes for an interview would help them get their life back. Perhaps buy a pack of cards at the dollar store and write encouraging notes in them and leave one in the bathroom at Walmart; on a water fountain at the mall; perhaps at a table in the food court. Just write, “I know times are hard, but you can make yourself better. You’ve been through worse things. Stay strong for yourself and the ones who love you.”

I mentioned to a friend, yesterday, how some of my loved ones don’t quite understand my way of living: using a woodstove; canning; growing a garden; hanging up clothes to dry and she said, “You do put these things out in public for everyone to see,” and she’s right…I do. But I don’t do it to be teased or ostracized, but to help others. Perhaps someone is struggling along, thinking how bad they have life. Then, they read my posts and say, “Well, we don’t have it near as bad as her,” and feel better about themselves. Then, I have helped someone and my goal has been accomplished. Maybe someone is newly divorced or widowed and they aren’t sure how to make ends meet.  Maybe my posts help them to see around corners or ways to survive they never even thought of. Again, my posts have helped another. We don’t have to donate a million dollars to a charity to have a legacy. Your legacy can start with one person that you help overcome an obstacle.

What’s YOUR legacy?

 

3 thoughts on “Saving the fruit trees from freezing

Leave a Reply

